Grasshopper

algorithmic modeling for Rhino

Hi and Greetings to everybody

I am really enjoying your wonderful network.

I am new to grasshopper (and rhino too). After struggling with this incredible program for a month, I've found it really powerful, yet I did not find innate components for functions which I think a generative design really need them, LOOPS. ( VBscript and C#script are really hard to use for beginners and somehow time-consuming)
In addition I think a general innate "bake component" which is controllable through definition itself. (Guilio Piacentino Grasshopper tools in C# are really great)

And a question: Has anyone worked on evolutionary systems in grasshopper?

As I am an amateur. I may have missed these components. If there are such a components please guide me.

Views: 2847

Replies to This Discussion

you can't "self-reference" components yet, so that means no recursive loops using standard components. c3 and vb are quite the only thing where you could implement something like this. anyway, i haven't come across any visual programming language (i've used just vvvv and pd) that would allow you this.
i might be wrong.
What about a VB or C# script component which gets a conditional statement and a cluster of components as inputs, then execute the cluster as long as the conditional statement is true?
Do you think it is possible to write such a script?

Besides do you think there is a need for graphical loop tool in grasshopper in general?
i really don't know what to say - i think grasshopper is built with a more or less an instant updates philosophy in mind. usually evolutionary systems are much more process orientated and open ended. reaching a stable state (if this is what you are after) is nice but usually takes quite some computational time so it's unlikely this will happen in gh.