Grasshopper

algorithmic modeling for Rhino

Hey, 

I am a beginner of GhPython.

I want to use the points from grasshopper directly, but I cannot.

I guess there must be some ways to declare x should be a point.

So, what is the right method that I can use points generating from grasshopper directly?

Thank you so much.

Views: 12941

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Suzy,

To create a point from scratch, there are two ways to do it:

and:

in general the two ways to create geometry from scratch are:

1. to use the rhinoscriptsyntax commands like "AddPoint()" and "AddLine()". Commands like this will return Guids that refer to objects, and are great for working in rhinoscriptsyntax. this is illustrated in the first example.
  2. to make objects directly using constructor methods in Rhino.Geometry. These commands will return Geometry objects such as Point3d, Curve, and Surface objects (instead of Guid objects). This approach is good for working with RhinoCommon, and is illustrated in the second example.

I hope that helps.

Thanks a lot,Benjamin.

I guess my picture explaining my question in a wrong direction.

Let me try to explain my question again.

Actually, my final target is delete one of two lines generated in grasshopper, if the distance between them is lower than a special number(like 2mm).

So, according to this logic, the first step should be input lines from grasshopper, and them calculate the distance between them. After delete one.

However, in the first step , although I already set the input x and y as point3d, I still cannot add a circle or a line with x and y.So, I guess I cannot use the points generated from other operation from grasshopper,which means I have to generate the initial geometry from GhPython.