Recovery files are handled differently in Grasshopper 0.9+. They are all stored in a single Grasshopper AutoSave folder (accessible via the Grasshopper File→Special Folders→AutoSave menu). The name of each recovery file is a hash of the original filename+location and therefore not humanly readable (4F00D542-B800-8BA6-9811-AE7CEC6DD16C.gh for example).
When a new file is opened and a matching recovery file is found in the AutoSave folder, a message will pop up offering this information along with three options:
- You can choose to open the recovery file instead of the original file, this will not overwrite the original file until the file is saved for the first time. Basically, the recovery file thinks it is the original file.
- You can also save the recovery file under a different name, after which the original file is opened. This is obviously the safest approach, as no data is lost or in danger of being overwritten.
- Ultimately, you can choose to ignore the recovery file and just open the original file. In this case the recovery file is actually moved into the recycle bin before a new recovery file would overwrite it, so it is not in fact lost forever.